Location, Athens Ont K0E 1B0
613-802-8068
info@armadainspectionservices.ca

ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES

Certified and Insured Home Inspection Services

Call: (613) 802-8068

Services Available 7 Days a Week, call Richard and Carol Anne @ 613-802-8068.
Our clients receive their Home Inspection Report the same day as the inspection, late day inspections by 8am the next day.

The annual MOVEMBER fundraiser for men’s health is underway.

$100 from every home inspection in November goes to the cause, and our client receives the tax receipt. 

Technology has dramatically changed how inspections can be completed, and Armada Inspection Services helps set the standard. Our Thermal Imaging Cameras, Moisture Meters, Radon Detectors, Carbon Monoxide Detectors, Humidity & Temperature Meters, Borescopes and so much more are among the best available. We have the equipment, certification, and over 40 years of hands-on technical experience to do the job right. Our goal is to make sure that you have the most comprehensive, informative, and accurate home inspection experience, ensuring that no detail goes unnoticed. We only answer to our client.

Buying your home is one of the biggest expenses in your lifetime. With lots to learn about your new neighborhood and community, the last thing you want is your new neighbour’s telling you disturbing details about the house you just purchased. Richard & Carol Anne take the guess work out of the unknown by providing accurate, trusted, and reliable Home Inspections. You get the answers you need to decide whether to close the deal, renegotiate, or walk away.

Richards in-depth knowledge and understanding of all the systems in a home and his ability to identify potential problems that could affect the value or safety of the home has been developed through decades of hands-on experience. Richard regularly assists Licensed Tradesmen with installs, replacements, repairs, and service of HVAC and Plumbing systems, including geothermal. He has the same tools as technicians and tradesmen because he was an RCN Specialist Technician for 30 years. He knows what can be repaired and what needs to be replaced. Even a home needing some work can be a great purchase, but you need to know what you are looking at first, and this is what we do.

Salt and Sugar look the same, so be careful who you trust. We started this business due to our own unfortunate experiences when we moved from Halifax, with people attempting to deceive us for their own gain. It’s disgraceful, they don’t care, and they walk among us. Trust matters more than you know. Our dedication and loyalty to our clients is well known in the Real Estate community. We can’t promise your new home will come with great neighbour’s, but we can ensure you receive the high-quality inspection you expect and deserve.

Homes up to 3,000 SF – $445

Carbon Monoxide Leak Testing – Always Included

Infrared Thermal Imaging Exam – Always Included

We know that the property you found does not always end up being in the condition you hoped. This is why we offer our clients a 20% discount on multiple inspections.

Richard is a Dalhousie University Certified Home Inspector, he is Leeds & Grenville’s only Home Inspector who is a WETT Certified Technician, Chimney Sweep, and System Advisor. He holds three Mould Certifications, he holds two FLIR Thermal Imaging Certifications, and is a FLIR Certified Thermographic Building Investigator, one of only a few home inspectors in Ontario with this advanced designation. His other certifications are too long to list here.

“Richard and Carol Anne are friendly, courteous, and professional. Their inspection was thorough, and they found things we never would have thought to look for. They were also able to put our minds at ease by showing us exactly what needed work, how much work was needed, and even advised us on what to prioritize and why. The report clearly delineates and explains everything, to the point that we can estimate how much home maintenance and repairs will cost and what benefits we can expect from them. They really have our best interest at heart, and it shows. We are thrilled with the value we got from their inspection of our home. Thank you, Richard and Carol Anne!”    Ash Nassef, Brockville, July-2022

Movember is here. The annual fundraiser for men’s health and Richard is growing a filthy 80’s stash to help raise funds and awareness. 

$100 from every Home Inspection completed in November goes to the Movember cause, and our clients get the tax receipt for their home inspection.

You get to help a great cause, get a tax receipt and also get the best home inspection possible.

“A true professional, the service far exceeded our expectations. The truly comprehensive home inspection was invaluable in our decision to purchase. I can’t recommend Armada Inspection Services more highly. “
ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Peter Beliveau
Aug 2020
– – – – – – – – – –
“Excellent company all around. Great communications, service delivery and incredibly detailed inspection report with more detail, photos and advice than I could have wanted or expected! Keep up the excellent work!  “
ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Diana Cieslik
Apr 2022
– – – – – – – – – –
“Richard and Carol Anne were thorough and knowledgeable. This was our first home inspection and we had a great and helpful experience.”
ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Jasmine Lefebvre
Nov 2021
 – – – – – – – – – –
“What a great experience! Richard is knowledgeable, did a thorough inspection and was able to give suggestions when asked of how to get stuff done to help us plan for potential problems down the road. Would highly recommend his services!”
ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Danielle Turner
Aug 2019

“We’ve used inspection services in the past and can honestly say this was the most knowledgeable and complete one we’ve had. Richard was thorough and didn’t leave any stone unturned. Money well spent. “

ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Janet Trecarten
May 2021

– – – – – – – – – –

“Highly recommend Armada Inspection Services. Easy to book with, great communication, highly detailed and professional. Extremely thorough. And all for a great price! Very happy with our home inspection. Thanks Richard!”
ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Danielle Montgomery
May 2020
–  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –
“Richard was great and provided a very detailed report. Thanks to him we avoided buying what would have been a big money pit! Would highly recommend him.”
ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Stacey Grammick
Nov 2019
 
“It was evident from the beginning that Richard really cares about what he does. He is thorough, diligent and objective. We received a very detailed report which also included suggestions for how to resolve some of the property deficiencies. Richard also arranged for a WETT inspection to be done at the same time and took care of all of the details. Richard and Carol Anne were a pleasure to meet and work with and I have no hesitation in recommending Armada Inspection Services for your home inspection needs.
ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Gillian Pearl
Nov 2020
– – – – – – – – – –
This is our second time using Armada Inspection Services and definitely give them a 5 star. Outstanding attention to detail. Amazing service! Very professional, personable and thorough. Your obvious experience and enthusiasm gave us the confidence that we were making an informed decision. Your charming personality really put us at ease in this stressful process of purchasing our home. We really couldn’t have wished for a more knowledgeable, helpful and friendly inspector.”
ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Jeff & Gail Simourd
 June 2020
 
“We were looking at buying a home and had Armada Inspection Services conduct a home inspection. Their communication was impeccable throughout the process and their thoroughness clearly demonstrated their experience. Not only did they provide an excellent service, but they provided recommendations on how deficiencies might be rectified including pros and cons. I would highly recommend their home inspection service and it goes well beyond what is normally considered a home inspection.”
ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Joel Maley
Apr 2022
– – – – – – – – – –
“Richard’s extensive experience and qualifications really showed when inspecting the home we purchased. He answered all of our questions with detail and was very thorough in his inspection. I’d use him again without hesitation. “
ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Colin Rioux
Mar 2021
– – – – – – – – – –
“Amazing all round! Did an extremely thorough job and actually ended up finding some things that saved us A LOT of money down the road (since we were able to counter our original offer)
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!”
ARMADA INSPECTION SERVICES
Mitchell Beattie
Dec 2019
 

A client dreamed of living in the country, so they sold their home in the big city and purchased a home in our area. They purchased the property based on the listing info. When they saw the home for the first time during the final walk through, they told their agent “In two days I’ll know what I purchased”, and they told their agent who they hired. The agent went back to their vehicle and came back with a letter they asked our client to sign. It was a Liability Release Letter. Yeah, we have that effect on some people. There are good and bad in every industry so choose wisely. 

After our client learned the true condition of the property it was relisted and sold less then 4 weeks later.

Our Home Inspection Team uses the toughest and most inclusive Home Inspection Standard in Canada.

 CSA A770-16 Home Inspection Standard  

Our Home Inspection reports detail the condition and any defects found related to:

* Roofing Systems  *Exterior Components  *Structural & Foundation Components  *Electrical System  

*Heating Systems  *Air Conditioning & Heat Pump Systems  *Insulation & Barrier Components  *Interior   

*Ventilation Systems  *Mechanical Systems  *Plumbing Systems  *Attached Garages  *Life & Safety Systems        

*Pool & Hot Tub Safety  *Pool Fencing & Gates  *Primary Detached Garage  

*Other Detached Structures (client option)  

If the “Well Maintained Charmer” or the “Spectacular Renovations” do not live up to the hype, our clients will know, in detail.

FALL SPECIAL

Wood Stove season is here. Some homes may have a wood stove, pellet stove, or fireplace. Were they installed correctly? Are they safe to use? If there is no record of a Level 2 inspection available, then a Level 2 (Technical) inspection is what we recommend.

Add a WETT Level 1 (Visual) or Level 2 (Technical) Inspection to your Home Inspection and save $100 off the regular price on each appliance.

Richard is Leeds & Grenville’s only Home Inspector who is a WETT Certified Technician, Chimney Sweep, and System Advisor.

Why We Test For Carbon Monoxide (CO)

Exposure to CO is extremely dangerous, it is odorless, tasteless, it can make you very sick, and it can kill.

A home inspector that reports “the furnace is 27 years old and worked the day of the inspection” is telling you nothing useful, though it may be technically correct. They put your safety at risk and end up costing you after you own the $6,000 problem. They are not working in your best interest.

Richard has the same tools as technicians because he works beside technicians and assists with new home builds, system installations, maintenance and repairs every chance he gets. He knows what he is looking at and looking for, including appliances beyond their expected lifespan and are leaking carbon monoxide and other toxic gases into the home due to a failure such as the perforated heat exchanger we found and pictured here. The level of detail in our inspection reports is unmatched.

Heat Exchanger Leaking

Unfortunately, All Home Inspectors Are NOT The Same

(An Actual Inspection)

The seller has the property inspected by a home inspector that the listing agent highly recommended. The report identifies some minor maintenance, including a leaking plumbing fitting. The report also identifies the attic being insulated to R32. No major issues found or identified. All you have to do is trust the report.

OR

Richard and Carol Anne inspect the property for you, and they tell you the true condition. They identify a long list of omissions, and defects. The plumbing defects that exist are confirmed by a Licensed Plumber who provides a $9,000 estimate for the required repairs. The R32 insulated attic is also found to be only R12, with a single bundle of R20 insulation added, covering less than 10% of the total area.

Why did the pre-listing inspection not identify the issues Richard and Carol Anne found? We know why. With hundreds of thousands of dollars of YOUR money on the line we recommend you do your own research, it takes less than an hour.

There are bad apples in every industry. There are also those that have absolutely no background or experience other than the course they just completed, with even fewer identifying that they even have insurance.

 

Do You Need a WETT Inspection?

A few homes will have a fireplace, wood stove, wood furnace, or even a pellet stove or two. Were they installed properly? Do they even work? Are they safe? Anyone can install their own wood burning appliances and it happens every day, with no inspection ever being completed. All appliances are also not made equal. Some cheap inefficient appliances cost $600 and high-end units are in the thousands. The correct WETT Inspection can tell you what you have, if it’s a certified appliance, and most importantly if it is installed correctly and safe to use.

Almost every home inspection company offers WETT Inspection services. “We do WETT Inspections”. Makes it sound like there is only one inspection standard. Did you know there are actually three levels of WETT Inspections? The vast majority of home inspectors are certified to complete only Level 1 Inspections. A Level 1 (Visual) Inspection is the lowest standard. This is a popular level of certification to get as a home inspector, you can provide your own letter of reference. That’s convenient. The Level 1 inspection does have its place and use, but not as the appliance’s primary inspection.

It takes years to become a WETT Certified Technician. Very few Home Inspectors are WETT Certified Technicians. Richard is one of them, and he is also a Certified Chimney Sweep and Solid Fuel Burning System Advisor. Richard will switch from a Level 1 (Visual) inspection to a WETT Level 2 (Technical) Inspection when he sees the need. Level 1 Inspections do not require the use of tools and will not identify functional defects or unsafe installations, and these can cost you thousands. If Richard sees enough during the home inspection to tell him there are issues and a Level 1 inspection is not sufficient, he will tell you beforehand, saving you the cost of the WETT Inspection. He will discuss the issues found, along with his concerns, and you can decide how to proceed. Most times, even severe defects are repairable, but you need to know.

Due to increased client requests, we have adopted a larger service area, and for a price better than the local companies.

Main Service Area:  Brockville, Cardinal, Lansdowne, Mallorytown, Merrickville, Prescott, Rockport, Smiths Falls, Spencerville, Westport, Seeley’s Bay and anywhere in between.

Zone 2: ($30 travel fee) expands service area to include Gananoque, Iroquois, Kemptville, Kingston, Morrisburg, and Perth areas.

Zone 3: ($60 travel fee) expands service area to include Carleton Place, Cornwall, Kanata, Mississippi Mills, Napanee, Ompah, Sharbot Lake, Tatlock, and Winchester areas. Zone 3 inspection reports are delivered as soon as possible and no later than 8am the next morning.

We provide our reliable service 7 days a week.

Just give us a call, 613-802-8068, or send us an email and we can confirm the address and availability for you.

We are proud of our donations to the Lanark Animal Welfare Society (LAWS)

Give Every Paw a Chance !

Untitled

Visit  https://www.lanarkanimals.ca/  for more info, and if you wish to donate time or support.

"Your Home & Property Inspection Specialists"